How to start calling at night? newb needs guidance!

Syoungs

Hello all,
I would like to get into hunting coyotes at night. I haven't don't this before, but have hunted in the day. I'm pretty new to taking predator hunting seriously, but my state seems to have a big problem with predators, so I'm going to start doing my part.

Problem is, I'm not sure where to begin! we have a couple E callers in my group, a FoxPro inferno and a lucky duck revolt, both with decoys on call. we have a few dedicated AR uppers, and we have some money.

My dad and myself are planning on purchasing digital night vision scopes of some sort, most likely the photon rt, but still haven't fully ruled out the ATN scopes.
The issues I keep getting myself hung up on is the scanning the terrain for incoming dogs. I see a lot of people on here talking about using a thermal imager to find the coyotes as they come in, and switch to the NV on the rifle to verify it is a coyote, and take the shot with. My budget may not allow the purchase of a thermal imager though.
Is there any way around using a scanning device? using lights to scan with, and switching to NV after locating? quick release rings on the rifles so we can scan with a scope, and shoot with the other? just scan with the rifle? Any guidance here would be appreciated!
I am going to put off buying a suppressor later this month, and instead go with buying a NV optic. There may be money left for a thermal scanner if I buy a used one possibly.

How about lights instead of NV? I still think the investment to rig a couple guns with lights, and get a couple headlamps or handhelds will be sizeable (haven't even looked into it enough to know for sure), and I'm not sure what the success rate between lights and digital NV is. Will a lower end NV scope such as a wraith, photon or ATN be a significant step up in night hunting success?