First Cougar Called In

shankbone

First: Don't scroll down looking for pics.
blush.gif

I have been calling predators for a few years. After learning how to call and kill coyotes from this site and members on this site, I quickly became hooked on calling, call making, and learning about predator behavior. I also set some goals for predator hunting, and yesterday I made a big step towards reaching my goal of killing a cougar that came to the call.

I cold-called a cougar into my stand at the thirty-minute mark, while blasting a hand call. I started the stand with my hunting partner, 0.33 miles from a spur FS road. The stand was on a NW-facing stand of thinned timber at 5,200ft in the Wenaha Unit of Oregon.

I started the stand with 7 minutes of vole squeaks of the Fox Pro CS24C. I went from 0-18 on the volume and then back down to 6 over that time. I kept the silence between sounds at under 60 seconds over the rest of the stand. I played whitetail fawn and whitetail doe in distress sounds...running the volume from a starting volume of 8 and up to 20, and then back down over 30 minutes.

At the 30 -minute mark, I switched to a closed reed call made for me by Crooked Creek Customs. After my second of screaming and whimpering on the closed reed call, I was scanning my head left to right while putting some "emotion" into the call. My eyes picked up a "double dot" like a buck deer face and throat patch. My head stopped. My eyes focused, and in a split second I realized that a cougar was staring at me from behind a log about 50m away.

As I reached for my rifle on my lap, the cougar darted from view. I blew the call a few more times, and then lip squeaked for several minutes. The cougar did not appear again. I waited in silence for a minute, and then lip squeaked again. Nothing appeared, so I began working my way to where I saw the cougar, lip squeaking the whole time. No dice.