Looking at bearcreek question upper

skindaddy

I am looking at the 450 Bushmaster uppers I want the 18" the only diff I see in the two they have in that length is the gas block size one is . 750 and the other is .936.
I have no idea the diff. This is my first build been half Done for a year now so I don't know all the ins and outs.

Also considered the 350 legend only diff I see in them is Side Charge , rear charge and ambi charge.
Guess not sure I've seen side charge before
Any help is great thanks guys

ok lets see if I can help, a .750 or .75 gas block basically means it has got a 3/4'' hole in it or .75'' to fit .750 diameter barrel (at the gas block journal) and a .936 gas block has almost a 1'' hole or .936th of an inch in it to fit usually what is called a bull barrel. the bull barrel is going to be way heavier but possibly more accurate.

bear creek gets hit and miss reviews as far as accuracy goes. some have been very accurate and others have said they couldn't hit the broad side of a barn. also, they use to go by another name and did not have a good rep.

as far as side charger goes I have one of theirs and love it. but it was a custom build I did just using their upper and bolt combo with a green mountain barrel for a 7.62x39 pistol build I did. it kind of makes the AR like a bolt action if you will. the only drawback is when it comes time to clean it you have to use an allen wrench to remove the handle to get the bolt out. every time you put it back together you better put a dap of blue Loctite on the threads or it will vibrate out (or could) and if you are not paying attention your charging handle is lost if you're roaming around in the woods.

DbtpMUx.jpg

JC5iYwS.jpg

Last edited:
Ok that makes alot more sense thank you.
I wasn't sure of there quality as they seem cheap money wise compared to others but I would like a complete upper I don't really see many choices. Side charge makes sense too