Night Vision - IR, Thermal or Digital

What are most folks using for NV today. Seems like most of the talk here is on thermal or digital NV. I know I'm old, but I've been using IR and have two PVS-4's with 3rd gen tubes and one PVS-14 3rd gen. Then again with so much money invested in IR tech, kind of hard to go to something new.

Originally Posted By: Mr. PoppadopalisDave,
If it isn’t broke? Don’t fix it!

Dave, just because it's not broken, certainly doesn't mean you can't make it better
wink.gif

I have an old TNVC torch that I will occasionally pull out, but honestly since I went to thermal I very seldom touch my PVS-14.

Sorry I couldn't be more helpful

If he does any walking to get to his hunting spot, the PVS14 will still serve a purpose. Thermal isn't the best for navigating.

I've been looking into night vision for a little while. I'm leaning towards a Pvs 14 but I have no hands on experience with one, I can't use it for hunting in MN yet but if the laws change I certainly want to use it.

For the most part it will be used for traveling around as a head mount but I want to be able to shoot with it also, ether scope mounted or lazer on the gun.

For night hunting, just how good is night vision? I have some experience scanning and shooting with an old warn out gen 3 rifle scope my buddy had but it wasn't impressive, an old military buddy said that unit wasnt even close to the military ones he used.

So, for night hunting and scanning does a decent IR light help light up eyeballs enough to be any where near comparable to thermals?

I have been down this road. Gen 1 NV......Digital NV.... Gen 3 NV (PVS14)..... and now I own 3 thermal units.

I did the PVS14 gun mounted with a 3x magnifier and also the helmet mount configuration with an IR laser.

Thermal is the way to go. If it has a heartbeat you will see it.