Fox Hunting Help

Dad2thebone

I'm brand new to the world of predator hunting and I would like to get my kids into it. and I'm looking for some assistance with finding something that's easy on a fox pelt which I understand is not an easy task unless using a shotgun which I prefer not to use, I live in michigan so for the most part shots should be under 100 yards, also I'm not afraid to load my own bullets if that's what I need to do, and I know shot placement has a big play in it too, so if you guys could help me figure this out it would be greatly appreciated, I'd love to hear your fox stories with details of gun caliber, bullet, shot placement, and the end product of what the fur looked like, any advice helps, thank you.

The grey fox I shot and took to the taxidermist I hit with a .17WSM while it was running quartering away from me. I hit it somewhere close to the last rib if I remember correctly. It killed it on the spot and didn't tear it up at all. Barely any blood on the fur even.

I know one fox isn't much to go off of but I've killed plenty of other things with that little cartridge and never had any problems. It even has enough punch to kill a coyote inside of 150 yards. I wouldn't hesitate to use it again to shoot foxes. The only thing with foxes,at least from what I've seen is they don't stay still very long. So I can definitely see why a lot of guys prefer a shotgun for shooting foxes.

I've killed a bunch of foxes with a 17hmr and 12g. Set yourself up to call them in close. Read that last sentence again.

Set up ready on the 12g with a tight choke and #2 lead shot (Remington Nitro Magnum 3" #2 my favorite). Anything under 50 yards gets the 12g. (4buck, Tshot, and BB do not have enough pellet count to kill reliably at 30-50 yards, foxes are small).