Anybody shooting a rossi 223 single shot rifle

varmit_master

My friend is shooting one. He is using factory ammo win varmint value pack 45 gr jhp. The barrel is a 1@12 twist. He wants me to load him a bigger bullet. Need some help ty vm.

When I had 2 for the boys I was getting minute of pie plate with 55gr NBT and that was the best load that I could find for them. If your buddy is looking for accuracy then he is barking up the wrong tree using the rossi. I can't remember who said it on here but the way to get one to shoot good groups or get 1/2moa is to hold the barrel up to the target and shoot. Both of the ones that I had did not stick around very long and were sent packing.

I just copied and paisted this from another members signature, I laugh every time I read it.

"It's a rossi, barrel length will have little to do with how innaccurate it is. From my experience a rossi will shoot submoa as long as you press the muzzle against the target." -NdIndy

I have no experience with Rossi. I held a little .38 revolver of theirs once, I was only considering it as a gift for a friend. You get what you pay for is a darn good rule of thumb though.

The rifle I seen him shoot it and I shot it off a rest with the 45 gr jhp it will shoot a 1 inch group. I didn't think it would shoot that good but it did. He want to use it for coyotes . If I can get a 50 to 55 gr nolser bt or v max to shoot a 1 inch group I would so happy. He asked if I would try if he bought up the bullets and powder. If I could load up 2 boxes of it I could have the extra. I can only try. Ty.

The rifle I seen him shoot it and I shot it off a rest with the 45 gr jhp it will shoot a 1 inch group. I didn't think it would shoot that good but it did. He want to use it for coyotes . If I can get a 50 to 55 gr nolser bt or v max to shoot a 1 inch group I would so happy. He asked if I would try if he bought up the bullets and powder. If I could load up 2 boxes of it I could have the extra. I can only try. Ty.