Beginning to get into reloading thoughts?

BangFlop

I am thinking of starting with purchasing a RCBS Rock Chucker and Chargemaster Lite.

I will then add debur tool, calipers, sizing lube, Lee trimmer, powder, dies, bullets and primers.

I have considered the RCBS Supreme Kit, but was thinking I would really prefer the Chargemaster Lite and spend the additional $155-$200 difference from the Rock Chucker on the Chargemaster Lite?

Thoughts?

Steve

Hey Steve

I have been reloading since 1973. I started off with a $10 Lee Loader. When money got better I got me a Rock Chucker (which I still use today) and all the other things and we need or at least feel we need as the hobby (sickness) manifest itself. If you got the coin, then I suggest the more complete kit as you will be needing it anyway.

OR...you can check out the classifieds and Craigslist for estate sales or just someone getting out of the hobby. You can save a LOT money by buying good used stuff. A lot of what I have I picked up at gun shows. Most I bought new, but if I had been patient I could have bought it used in perfect condition for way less. Just a thought.

The best start is gonna be what ever you can afford. They all do basically the same thing. Only thing is if you want to compare, compare single stage to single stage and progressive to progressive. Either will make very good ammo with anyone's equipment. Progressive is faster; that can be good or bad.I never recommend progressive press's. Other than for shotgun, I've only had one. Very good Dillon Sq Deal and I simply couldn't get along with it!

I definitely do not need or want a progressive.
The kits have a lot of items, however, I feel I would prefer the Chargemaster Lite over a beam powder dump and trickler as all those items are within reasonable cost of just getting the Chargemaster Lite.

I think I want to use imperial sizing wax over the pad that comes with the kit.