Foaming bore cleaners

sll

Now that about every manufacturer now has their own recipe on the market, just curious to which one gets your vote. I have been using Wipe-Out for over 15 years and never have tried a different brand.

I would hope that the OP would invest in a Lyman Bore Scope, you will see exactly how well the bore cleaner is NOT WORKING!

Get ready for a shock!

or

Stay in denial, your hobby!

Originally Posted By: ackleymanI would hope that the OP would invest in a Lyman Bore Scope, you will see exactly how well the bore cleaner is NOT WORKING!...
Yah, I've used Gunslik foam for several years, then recently popped for a bore scope.
Copper is the least of my worries.
Plus a slight tinge of copper seems to not alter accuracy, so its not cleaned to absolute pure stainless steel.

Originally Posted By: ackleymanI would hope that the OP would invest in a Lyman Bore Scope, you will see exactly how well the bore cleaner is NOT WORKING!

No kidding. A borrowed Lyman bore scope (I now have my own) showed me just how filthy my 'clean' barrel actually was. Foam cleans OK but it does not clean good. Back to stronger solvents and bronze bore brushes and the proverbial elbow grease. NOW I have clean barrels. Meh. Live and learn.

Originally Posted By: ackleymanFoamers I used were great on copper, worthless on carbon, and I mean worthless.

And that's a fact!

Quote:No kidding. A borrowed Lyman bore scope (I now have my own) showed me just how filthy my 'clean' barrel actually was.

Yeah, Rusty, I had a friend bring his over and lead me down the path, as well.
smile.gif

Regards,
hm

Montana X-Treme products get my vote. I've been able to validate they do what they advertise they are supposed to with a Lyman bore scope. And it doesn't involve hours and hours of effort if you avoid neglecting a firearm.

For stubborn jobs, I use J-B's.