Favorite .308 deer bullet/load

Borden811

Hey guys, I'm new to the world of the .308. I've been reloading for various calibers for while now, and plan on reloading for my new .308 rifle. I'll be using it for deer mostly, from 50 yards out to possibly 400. So, what are your favorite deer bullets and loads for the .308 Winchester?

Given your potentially variable yardage, I'd recommend a mid-weight bullet that'll open up at your max range. I'd take a look at "regular" (non-premium) bullets in the 150-165 grain range. Consider bullets like the Nosler hunting Ballistic Tips or Partitions, Honady SSTs, Sierra Game Kings, Remington CoreLocts, etc. I've had pretty decent results with factory Winchester and Federal ammo with basic 150 grain soft points. If you believe you need something a little more robust, consider Nosler Accubonds, Hornady Interbonds, or other bonded bullets. These have solid reputations for good performance near and far.

So far, given the current shortage of EVERYTHING shooting related, I've managed to scrounge up some 165gr nosler ballistic tips, and some 165gr sierra pro hunter HPBT. Which one would you start load development with?

Determine your twist rate in the rifle, and then see how heavy you can go. Mine likes 168's, anything over that and the groups open up too much for my liking. but there are some rifles that will shoot a 155 and then a 180 really well too... Start with a good middle weight for the rifles twist and then experiment from there with the heavy or lighter rounds. good luck. Try midwayusa, powdervalley, midsouthshooterssupply, and the others they are getting stock in pretty well; even with the scare going on.