Dedicated Bolt Action .308 and powder choices

TXCOONDOG

I have a 700 SPS in 308 (25” threaded barrel) and the suppressor adds 9.25” for a total barrel length of 34.25”. On the bench and open spaces, it’s fine but in a stand or getting out (in too) of the vehicle, it’s less than ideal. It is a tack driver with my handloads and do not want to cut the barrel down.

Looking for another bolt action 308 but with a 16” stainless barrel. I see Ruger has the Scout in 308 with a 16” ss threaded barrel so I’m looking for feedback (good, bad, and ugly).

Other rifle recommendations are welcome.
Note: It will be used mainly for hunting and a truck gun. Must be capiable of MOA at a minimum.

Since I’m just getting into the suppressor thing, need help (reloading) with powder choices, etc

My favorite powders for my 700 are Varget and RL15, but wondered with the shorter 16” barrel if I need to move to a faster powders for efficiency, etc ?

Just to be clear, I’m talking about supersonic loads.

Thanks in advance

Unless you really want that Ruger scout, or would be ok with a 16” rifle in carbon steel like the 700aac, Id just buy whatever rifle I really want and have it chopped and threaded at my desired length. In the last several years I’ve had my 20” Tikka CTR chopped to 18”, and 4 different T3 lites chopped back to 16.5 and 18”.

I sent the last one to Morgan at class 3 machining in Dallas, he did a good job at a very reasonable price. I’ve also sent rifles to LRI for threading, they do great work, but shipping both ways to SD is expensive. A good local gunsmith ought to be able to do them for $100 or so.

So I’d not let the factory barrel length dictate which rifle I buy, as pickings slim for 16” factory stainless rifle. If you’re ok with 18” and blued, there’s more options like the Bergara Ridge SP, Ruger American predator, weatherby vanguard Hbar..