25-300 wsm

Do you neck down 270 wsm brass or are you using 300 wsm brass ?
im new to this caliber so i have lots of questions if you dont mind helping me i would greatly appreciate the help .

Just wondering- wouldn't this be about the same power as .257 Weatherby Mag is? I like wildcats and have had a few but for this I wonder what the benefit is.

Originally Posted By: RustydustJust wondering- wouldn't this be about the same power as .257 Weatherby Mag is? I like wildcats and have had a few but for this I wonder what the benefit is.

Probably one of the biggest benefits is it could run in a short action as a repeater and not eat up a ton of case capacity, but to your point, they'd be real similar otherwise.

Originally Posted By: RustydustJust wondering- wouldn't this be about the same power as .257 Weatherby Mag is? I like wildcats and have had a few but for this I wonder what the benefit is.
It is similar to the 257 Weatherby, benefits are short action, no belt on the case, don't have to use Weatherby brass, less powder helps with barrel wear, and the biggest is I already had the action.
thumbup1.gif

Originally Posted By: tonyprovinDo you neck down 270 wsm brass or are you using 300 wsm brass ?
im new to this caliber so i have lots of questions if you dont mind helping me i would greatly appreciate the help .
Yes, I neck down 270 WSM brass. I have to neck turn a little and clean up the donut on the inside or they get hard to chamber after a couple of loads. I used starting loads for 270 WSM with 140/150 grain bullets to start. IMR 7828 SC and H1000 are the powders that worked best. I settled on H1000 with a magnum primer.

so you used starting loads of 270 wsm ?
would it matter is i started their as well even though i only planning on using a 100 grain nosler ballistic tip ?

Originally Posted By: tonyprovinso you used starting loads of 270 wsm ?
would it matter is i started their as well even though i only planning on using a 100 grain nosler ballistic tip ?