your opion

Spike

I have been reloading cartridges for more than 60 years and every time I look at a bottle of Hodgdon powder it lists a max charge with a bullet weight. how many of you go to the max charge to start out loading or do you start with a lesser charge? spike

seriously?

The idea of starting at max load has many things wrong with it.
1. every rifle is different
2. bullets of the same weight have different construction resulting in different pressures
3. seating depth, brass, primer and other component factors can affect pressures
4. max load could easily be a very inaccurate load
5. different lots of powder can vary in burn rate

I would bet the recommendation of starting low and working up has been stated on this and every other gun related forum many hundreds of thousands of times. That is reloading 101.

I admit it that I have. And never had a "awshit" from doing it either. Even the max loads are on the conservative side these days it seems.

In the old days as you know, they used real firearms to test their loads and tell you what the gun were using and the barrel length. For a long time now they just use pressure barrels and when they get to the SAAMI pressure max they stop. Some of the load data in the old books would be off the charts for some factory data. My 50 year old Speer book has some real screamers in it and lot of them I have tried and liked.

Fast forward a few years and now it's a different story. For example, the starting load for my .480 Ruger is now my max load. No desire for more punch than that!

laugh.gif
Yea, my #5 1961 Speer manual has some pretty hefty loads in it!
54gr. of IMR-4064 behind a 150gr. HSP has been a go to load for a bunch of us for years, extremely accurate and so far so good out of multiple guns.