Adjustable gas block or suppressed bolt carrier?

case-nh

Running 2 rifles suppressed. Have read a few negative things that can crop up with an adjustable gas block and they don't sound as convenient as the suppressed bolt carrier ( GemTech ). Wondering which you prefer or like or have compared. Asked this question over on the Suppressed forum but that gets a limited number of people looking at it.

I have both,

Each are on a different Colt "16" carbine AR15 with carbine length gas tubes. I have a lot of experience with the adjustable gas tube. And only 1 range trip with the Bootleg adjustable carrier. I bought the bootleg during Black Friday and got a great deal on the whole BCG. Or i likely would have went with the Gemtech.

My adjustable block is the adjustable screw with a set screw type from JP Enterprises. It is a set it and forget it design. That being said, it takes time to adjust and can be finicky. But when set, it cycles exactly how you want it to. I am a Coyote hunter and run Sierra 55gr HPBT's through mine with a stout load of H4895.

I have the gas turned down to just barely lock the bolt back suppressed. It shoots very soft!

The down side to this "setting" is that when you take the can off, it turns into a single shot rifle. It would take some tinkering to "re-tune" it. Some guys will set these up to just barely lock the bolt back with the can off. Then you are good to go in all phases. I set mine up to run suppressed only, and shoot very, very soft. (single purpose rifle)

The rotary adjustable styles could be handy for quick change from can off, to can on. If your rail does not hide the assembly?