Best 243 load for coyotes ?

Swampy16

I just bought a Savage 110 in 243 to start coyote hunting. I’m a grouse hunter but I’m looking for something after the NY season closes. I’ll hunt PA for yotes. Up until now I have only reloaded shotgun ammo. I’m looking at the Lee starter kit. I sighted the gun with Hornady American Whitetaill 100 grain and it seems to shoot them very well. I’m a noob with rifles so be patient. I really enjoy reloading BTW. Thanks in advance.

My 243 digests Sierra 80 btsp really well. 37.5 gr of IMR 4895. Not fur friendly. On deer I use same powder charge and shoot Barnes 80gr. ttsx (i think).

It really depends. Do you just want to kill coyote or save the fur? I find the 243 in general pretty tough on hides. That said I'd try bullets between 55 and 70 grains.

Tue best load I have found so far is a 70 grain Nosler ballistic tip at 3350 fps (out of a 1 in 9.25" twist). Puts them down like Thor's hammer and has been surprisingly fur friendly.

I use a Sierra 70 grain Matchking BTHP. Shot a coyote last week behind shoulde at 170 yards, dropped in his tracks with roughly 1” entrance and 1” exit. Usually have a hole about that size on most exits. Running varget on the bottom end of the load. Bullet runs 3100 FPS. May not be the best bullet choice but it works for me in my gun.

Originally Posted By: Swampy16I’d like to save the furs if possible. I’m not sure what twist rate my rifle has.

If it is a stock factory rifle.....it's probably somewhere between a 1 in 9 and a 1 in 10.

Originally Posted By: Swampy16I’d like to save the furs if possible. I’m not sure what twist rate my rifle has.

What model of 110? There’s a few variations and my bullet choice will be greatly different between 1-9 and 1-10. I personally love the 55 gr Nosler BT boat tail doesn’t exit often if you push them fast enough they rarely give me any issues.

Originally Posted By: Swampy16It’s the Engage Hunter XP.