Career decisions

Bullmastiff

The past 5 years have been very difficult for me and my family. I was a land surveyor for 16 years, although I do not have my professional license, I am an LSIT (half way through the licensure process) and I was on track to licensure. We moved to Northeast Oregon in 2006 because I got an excellent job with an engineering company and then we built our dream home in 2007-8. I then was laid off in December of 2008. Merry Christmas right? Since then, I have worked for 3 different companies and been laid off from 2 of them. Basically, struggling to survive. This past year I was able to go back to school and get an A.A.S in civil engineering technology. I did very well, but the problem is, no local engineering companies want to hire right now, and they prefer bachelors degrees first. Soooo, I've been sending out resume's farther and farther away. I've had multiple phone interviews, but finally got past the first round and this company wants a face to face interview. Great news, right? The job would be in Glendive, Montana and be in the oil/gas industry. The problem is, I don't see moving my family there, as my wife has a good job here and my kids are enrolled/involved in a great school. Even though I haven't been offered a job yet, I know that someone with my qualifications and abilities are highly sought after, especially over there. My wife just suggested this weekend that maybe I work at the plywood mill again (the one job I didn't get laid off from) and go back to school and get my bachelors degree instead of being separated from the family (there is an on-line program that would build off of my current degree). But if I go over there for a while, I get engineering experience that could help with getting a job back here, and could still do the on line school as well, and make a lot more money than what a plywood mill pays. I'm also trying to figure out how much I would need to make over there to live and make my mortgage payment here, an