What's the next move?

WSpencer

I'm pretty new to predator hunting but have been trying to get out as much as possible in the past couple months. I'm in Virginia. I have called in a couple red foxes so far but no coyotes. I went out last night and started with some distress sounds. I went through several different sounds over 35 minutes or so with no response. Next I went to platinum grey fox for a few minutes. Nothing. I was going to end the stand with a few coyote vocals. I played a couple long deep female howls followed closely by a couple long male howls. A pack of coyotes lit up about 250 yds or so to my 10oclock. They howled and yipped for a few minutes and got quiet. Sounded like at least 4 or 5 of them. I howled some more with no response then played coyote pup distress. Long story short, over the next 20 min. I howled again and got them to respond but never saw anything. Is there anything you think I could have done to get them to move or just chalk it up as they weren't interested in coming in? Thanks for your help

In my experience, calling packs of coyotes like that here in PA is tough, much tougher than pulling in a transient just wondering around. Some people say quiet mouse squeaks works for them, others say TT's Den Raid. Absolutely nothing has worked for me. I've moved closer, got in the woods with them, tried the weirdest calls available to me. Nothing. I've even tried not calling them for 8 months...nothing.

Some hunters I talk to feel our lights are spooking them. If I had to guess, there's a good chance those coyotes were there the whole time, listening to your entire call sequence.

You may have much better luck in the spring/summer with rabbit distress during day light hours. The coyotes are much bolder around here during that time, trying to find as much food as possible. Farmers have actually taken cell phone pics of them in the middle of their fields while they're bailing hay.