Flea irradication on Pelts

Wabbitstalker

I’m in my first year of trapping up here in MN and a week ago I snared my first coyote. It was an adult female with good looking fur (to my untrained eye). She had been dead out in freezing conditions for at least a day. I assumed any fleas or parasites would be gone. And i skun her the next night. Still kinda paranoid hoping I didn’t pick up anything. How do you furhandlers treat your critters? Does everything get a can of raid? Or is death and cold enough for fleas to be gone?

No where near as cold here as where you are, and I am pretty certain we have a bigger flea problem or at least we have more of them....in my experience fleas leave an animal as soon as it dies and the body temp drops. As in right now, as in a matter of a few minutes. I learned this rabbit hunting as a kid. It is usually still warm enough here when rabbit season first opens for them to have fleas. I'd kill a rabbit and put it in my game bag and have fleas crawling up my back. Didn't take but once to figure out that I needed to leave the rabbit lay on the ground for a few minutes to let them vacate.
Later in the year when we would trap I don't remember seeing animals with fleas.
I have to ask, did this coyote have fleas on it at this time of the year in MN.?????

I can’t tell if that question was rhetorical. But having no experience with fleas and I have no idea what to look for other than hair falling out. I just figured I’d wake up one morning with an itchy head and bugs crawling all over and a really mad wife.

Originally Posted By: WabbitstalkerI can’t tell if that question was rhetorical. But having no experience with fleas and I have no idea what to look for other than hair falling out. I just figured I’d wake up one morning with an itchy head and bugs crawling all over and a really mad wife.