Cover or no Cover?

randry

I am fairly new to night hunting more specifically thermal and can’t decide whether I should tuck next to a wood line or field edge, or if I’m totally fine being right out in the open. I see people that even stand to scan. I usually sit on a chair with a tripod and scan. Often times the only good area of visibility is to sit right in the open. What do you guys think?

I base it on how bright the area is and how much I'm going to stick out. On dark nights, I'll stand right out in the open. On brighter nights, I'll hide like it's daytime.

Originally Posted By: SledgeI base it on how bright the area is and how much I'm going to stick out. On dark nights, I'll stand right out in the open. On brighter nights, I'll hide like it's daytime.

Me too

I know it's tough to really say, but how far do you guys think coyotes can see when it's pretty dark out? Just trying to get an idea of how I can setup out in the open on dark nights.

When it's dark, I'll stand in the middle of an open field with no issue. By the time they're close enough to pick me out, they've already been shot.

Originally Posted By: varminter .223If its dark you don't need to hide. If they are close enough to see you there should be lead in the air.

I like it. Just coming from only hunting with red lights in the past and that was always my “camo or concealment” so was just curious on how it would it would work with NV/Thermal.

Originally Posted By: Deltagunner00I know it's tough to really say, but how far do you guys think coyotes can see when it's pretty dark out? Just trying to get an idea of how I can setup out in the open on dark nights.
-
In all nighttime light conditions, for a fact they see better at night than a human .