17 Rem brass and dies

shelton573

X-caliber already finished my 17 rem barrel that I ordered on the 4th and it is sitting at the house. I didn’t expect it to show up that quick so I took my time ordering the other parts and now I’m behind.

As far as brass is concerned, what is everyone running? I have been looking at Norma and Remington, but I was wondering if the high plains stuff is any good?

Any die suggestions? I usually run RCBS and Redding standard dies. Is there any need to mess with bushing dies with this small of a caliber that is intended to only shoot prairie dogs and coyotes?

I’m new to the 17 cal game so Any info is much appreciated!

Hey Shelton

Next year will make 40 years since I got my first .17 Remington. A lot as changed since then and all for the better. Better powder selection, way WAY more bullets, barrel makers, cleaning gear, all so much better than in 1979.

I have used nothing but R-P brass for all these years as that was about all there ever was for it for so long. I did buy a special run of nickle stuff about 10 years ago but I had sizing issues with it so I tossed it after a few loads. I have not tried the High Plains brass but would like to if I needed any. Sure is a good price.

I have used RCBS dies but now I have Hornady and like them fine. I also have a Lyman neck die and Redding body die that I use on occasional when needed.

Even though I used to load the 20 grain Vmax to 4400 fps I dont load them that hot anymore as there just was no need for that for ground squirrels that I normally hunt. They sure will do a number on prairie dogs if you keep your shots less than 300 yards or so. I have killed them over 400 but bullet performance at that range was spotty.