vehicle GPS, Ipad or tablet

Coyotejunki

OK, I am pretty new to this stuff. I am looking into getting an IPAD or tablet, most likely with GPS. Then I hear GAIA is the app to get. Anyone running this? Also do I need anything else to run this stuff when I am out and about? Does this run on it's own or will it need to hook to my phone and use up my limited 2 gigs? I am still unsure how all this works. I have only used my old Garmin.

Your old Garmin is probably still your best bet. Depending on exactly what you really want to do.

I use the crap out of nav while out and about. Last few years, using a tablet. I MUCH prefer a real, dedicated gps unit, but the ones I'd consider worth having for my purposes are just stupid expensive. I like the Garmin chart plotters though, if money were no object. That's what I used for a long time, until it died a few years ago. Same unit you see in a lot of bush planes.

Anyway... Even though it's what I use, I'm not a big fan of tablet for nav, partly because all of the apps suck. You'll have to find the one that sucks the least for you. Gaia could have been the one for me, but it was too buggy and kept locking up so I had to abandon it. Have tried a bunch, don't love any of them. Have pretty much settled on BCN though. It's stable and it works. Raster maps are crap, but that's pretty much the only game in town for nav on a tablet. The Delorme app had great potential, uses vector maps, but a couple of really annoying flaws I just couldn't live with. Can say the same for all the others I have tried which is a few.