New to night vision

Brimil

So I'm new to night vision, and fairly new to coyote hunting in general, but I just bought an ATN 4K pro and a coyote reaper XXL IR light... I can't afford a thermal scanner right now , so was wondering if in my situation would I be better off scanning with a red light, then switch to the scope for shooting, or just scan with the scope? Has anyone here done this without a night vision or thermal scanner? Eventually I want to get a scanner, but will have to make do for now .. for what it's worth, the gun is mounted on a tripod

Last edited:
Not sure how that atn4k is but personally I wouldn't bother hunting if I didnt have thermal to scan with. Its a must have. Honestly you will be missing lots of coyotes and will probably be confused by all the other critter eyes you will be seeing. You really need a handheld imo. Im not trying to discourage you but initially finding them is the biggest part. You will miss a lot of stuff without thermal and get tired of the continuous tedious scanning with only gun mounted nv. About 1500 bucks will get you enough thermal to be deadly if you look at used. I wouod tecommend a pulsar unit. I scanned the last 2 years with an xd19a but after upgrading to shooting with a Trail xp50 last year I have a hard time looking through the lesser view of my handheld.

Last edited:
A thermal scanner is what I'm saving up for next, but for now I only have two options.. Scan with a red light, or scan with the gun scope... So back to the original question.. Until I have a thermal scanner, would you guys recommend scanning with a red light, or scan with the gun, or stay home on the couch eating Cheetos and watching videos of guys with thermal scanners lol

I'd scan with the red light before I stayed at home. Lots of coyotes are killed with lights. Scanning with the rifle gets old, quick.