Thermal Scopes worth the money?

Softpoint

I see lots of videos of people shooting with these things now but do you really harvest more coyotes/bobcats?

Deciding on spending that much money is worth it?

And how serious you are, before you ever buy any NV equipment you should have killed a whole lot of coyotes in the day, know how they respond, know how they move, and so on..
I can watch a target come in from 800 yards out and can tell if its a dog, fox or coyote..
I may be jaded but only the most experienced hunters should hunt at night, I know a lot of coyote hunters , yet I only know one I will allow to hunt with me at night..
I believe you should start with standard night vision, that way target ID is a lot easier..
I hunted from 2009 with a PVS-14 on the back of a day scope, and spotted with a FLIR PS-32.
In 2017 I went to the IRD MK3 60mm, big money but I specialize in predator removal for farmers..

I've been hunting coyotes since 1981 and trapping them from 1985. Most of my hunting has been daylight hours but have done a fair amount of spotlighting.

The reason for switching to a different method is due to all the newbies who have educated most of the coyotes in the area. They are far more skittish these days than when I started.

In my experience, here in the South East, if you want to be consistently successful at night thermal or NV is really the only way to go. Yes you can kill coyotes with a light, but when I made the switch to NV/thermal my success went up about 10x. Yes the expense was worth it to me.
Bobcats are a different story around here. Bobcats and grey foxes don't seem to be too bothered by a light.
Reds are a little light shy, not as bad as a coyote though.