Beginner here, I'm ready to ask a few questions

Twilight_Dave

First of all I love the forum, there's a ton of info and a lot of really helpful people. I thought I could search through past topics and answer all my own questions but everyone's situation is a little different.

I live in Las Vegas, Nevada and I have no hunting experience. I've always been an occasional shooter but really stepped it up this year and bought a handful of guns, went out to the desert to shoot regularly and did a prairie dog trip in SD a couple months ago. Now that the weather is cooling down I'm itching to do a little real hunting. I thought about going on a guided trip or out to Texas for hogs but have decided that rather than spend money on a guide and travel I can stay closer to to home and give myself a little budget if needed to try and get some coyotes.

I have two questions... What should I buy and where should I go?

I have a Springfield Saint Edge AR15 with a red dot which is what I'd like to use, I also have a Ruger Precision in 6.5 but it's heavy and overkill. Is the red dot sufficient or get a scope? I've been looking for an excuse to buy a Trijicon though
smile.gif

I know I'll need an e-caller, I'll probably get a Foxpro.

Anything else that is a must? GPS? which brings me to the next question...