New guy... Cougar advice, is this as dumb as it sounds?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Right on, thanks. Definitely will get that package from rain shadow's site.
Holy smokes, you went through it... Nice work. Here's hoping for no broken ribs or equipment... 9 months would be awesome though, you got it done relatively quickly, considering.

Very torn on a blind. I get it, but the restriction may outweigh the benefits for me. I may try it to see how I feel about it. as a photographer I have done the motionless hour+ many times... Never for something as shy as a cougar, but still... Not completely ignorant about it. I've had a turkey peck my foot.

Can you explain your reasoning on the ineffectiveness of a decoy for a lion?

Originally Posted By: fw707Originally Posted By: Catdog1Originally Posted By: fw707Originally Posted By: Catdog1Originally Posted By: fw707Originally Posted By: Catdog1Personally if you decide to buy a Foxpro I would just buy the decoy that goes with it that would be the easiest thing. Other than that just a couple wings from an owl or a hawk on some string will work

Do you prefer hawk wings, or owl wings?

either or. Just whatever i can come across from a dead one on the side of the road.

Ok.
Does the US Fish and Wildlife Service make exemptions for possession of parts of road-killed federally protected raptors?

im permitted to posses them.

Would you mind sharing the details of your exemption?
. it's not an exemption.... it's a permit.
That's about all the detail i can share.

Last edited:
some native americans(indians) are allowed to possess feathers and other various parts of federally protected raptors for use in religious ceremonies.

BUT, to obtain eagle, hawk, owl, falcon, etc feathers for religious ceremonies, native americans can’t just go out and collect their own feathers. they must get them through a federal repository.

seems somebody is breaking the law and is giving out some terrible advice here.