OK, Time for a Stupid Question

pyscodog

I have this friend..........that says the military says, if you sight a rifle in at 27 yards, it will be on at 100 yards. He claims pretty much any caliber. I know this to be pretty much BS because if you sight in a 223 at 25 yards, its really high at 100. I can't see 2 yards making that much difference. I have no idea where he has got his information so don't shoot the messenger. Just curious as to what you all think about this. I call BS but I'm not an expert. I still sight my rifles in the hard way. Shooting them at the distance I want them sighted in for.

Go easy on me, I'm just repeating what he told me.

Last edited:
I have heard and seen this claim, but I thought it was 27 feet. What you are looking for is the first point where the bullet crosses the line of sight.

Doesn't sound like either one of you understand it at all.

Which is bizarre. I was taught this stuff and understood it fully as a small child. First time I was handed a scoped rifle, I was taught this. My kids have understood it fully since they were quite young too.

This is such a basic, fundamental concept to being able to hit what you are shooting at, I'm really kind of flabbergasted you don't understand it. But it's called trajectory. And line of sight. The two will intersect twice, once near, once farther. The distances where these intersections occur are dependent on sight height, velocity and BC. Caliber doesn't matter.

And in a lot of cases, for all practical purposes the 25 yard zero will be the same for a variety of calibers, as long as they have the same sight height and similar velocity and BC. Bolt action deer rifles is where I have seen it used a lot and most of them all pretty close to the same, for practical purposes.

The ancient practice of the 25 yard zero can get you darn close to what you want for a distance zero, if you have a clue what you are doing.

But you are both wrong.

- DAA