Walkies

I'm looking for a walkie talkie that has an honest distance of 5+ miles in mountainous, thick forested terrain. I know most companies say there's have 20+ mile range but that's out on open water or clear land. Any suggestions?
My group currently has cobra HH450's and they don't cut it up in NH and parts of MA
Thanks

I don't think you'll have any luck with 5+ miles using handhelds. It's all based on line of sight. Mountainous, thick forested terrain is not conducive to line of sight.

That said, VHF is your best bet. Get you a couple Baofengs and spend almost as much more on good antennas and you'll have as much bang for your buck as you can possibly get.

Need an amateur radio license (Ham) to legally operate, but passing the Technician test to get your ticket is a piece of cake. I studied for about four hours and got 100% on the Technician and General at the same time. Might go for Extra one of these days just for grins.

- DAA

^^^^^^^^^^ what DAA said.
Its not going to happen valley to valley and a mountain in the middle, with anything less than a sat-phone.
LOS (line-of-sight) is the limitation for VHF & UHF walkies.

(got my Extra back when 20 wpm code was required)

Originally Posted By: Bob_Atl

I would not be considering it if 20 WPM were still required
laugh.gif

But to OP, get your license. It's easy. It's worth it. And then, depending where you are, but pretty decent chance you can utilize local repeaters to get what you want. You really want to get licensed before trying to utilize the repeaters. But once licensed, you'll find nothing but helpful folks on the air and if there's a way to utilize your local networks to accomplish your comms goals, those helpful folks will get you there.

You can't talk directly, valley to valley, with a mountain in between. But if there is a repeater on that mountain... Or on any other mountain within range for both sides...