Noise and powder

parson

Interested especially in large caliber pistol cartridges. When subsonic suppressed, does powder choice make any significant difference in noise level. My one and only suppressed is a SRT 44 carbine. Using N350 and 300 XTP subsonic, is no where as quiet as the demonstrations on YouTube, tried Hornady factory 44 Special and no better

Parson, I am no expert in this area but I have worked up a lot of subsonic loads in my .300 blackout. Faster powders were quiet when compared to slower powders. Probably because I use less powder to get the bullet moving to 1050 fps. I have shot a lot of the vithavouri powder in my blackout trying to find the best/quietest/most accurate subsonic load. I tried N320, 340, 3N37, 350 and N110. You can tell a difference in sound between them...but only the slower powders shot accurately. The vit powders are pretty bulky so they fill up the case nicely in comparison to other fast ball powders. I have never loaded up a .44 mag subsonics so hopefully someone else will chime in.

I reload for my 77/44 and 240gr XTPs loaded with Trail Boss are noticeably quieter than 300gr Nosler HPs loaded with H110. Both are subsonic. They are both quiet so the difference isn't gigantic, but trailboss is noticeably quieter. I couldn't get enough trial boss under a 300gr to push it to 1000FPS without compressing it.
I'm using a Silencerco Hybrid suppressor. Hope that helps.

The trail boss is definitely quieter but had to go to a lighter bullet. My Speedometer chronograph won’t pick up bullet so I don’t know velocity, still need much work before satisfied