Hope this is the right place for this had to get it off my mind

willy1947

I am an Engineer by trade. I have written a lot papers on engineer stuff. You know boring but useful stuff. After, I retired and have a little knowledge of firearms. I started writing about hunting trips and different firearms. It paid good money for 200 to 300 words. The magazine would get a full page ad if they wrote a story about this new whatever. It had to be good enough for you to go buy it the next day or get you to write about it in blog. After a bit I got tired of the lies just to make a few dollars.
I just read in The American Rifle about a new round. It was everything I could muster to finish it. What a load of crap. But someone out there will want to buy this new round even though it is no better than a 223 Remington, 222 Remington and a 221 fireball will blow smoke rings around it. There are writers who could make you go out and buy pig poop and you would love doing it.
Now what does a fellow do, well I had a Dad and a Marine D.I. who drilled the facts of life in my brain.
Read books; yes, read a book!!!

Ken Waters Pet Loads "THE RED BOOK"
The Modern Rifle by Jim Carmichel
Handbook for Shooters and Reloaders by Parker O. Ackley
Pocket Manual for Shooter and Reloaders by Parker O. Ackley aka PO Ackley
Applied Ballistics for long range shooting by Bryan Litz
The Ultimate Sniper By Maj. John L. Plaster
Small Arms Design and Ballistics by Townsend Whelen
Mildot Master by Bruce N. Robinson
Pejsa's Handbook of New, Precision Ballistics By Arthur J. Pejsa "My favorite"
AND
The Hunting Rifle by Jack O'Connor.

Then you may start to learn what is truth and what is just to get your money.

The hot new topic is .224 Valkyrie. It'll kill coyotes from 8,000 yards away. Just ask all the fan boys. Unless there's some new miracle round now...?

There is pretty much no difference from round to similar round. But you would have time making that argument to some.