School me on wet tumbling

cjclemens

I'm looking into updating a few things on my reloading bench, and I want to start with my polishing method first. I'm currently using a fairly old Lyman vibratory tumbler with good, old-fashioned corn cob media. It works OK, but it takes a long time to do really dirty brass. After doing some research, I'm seriously considering trying the rock polisher from Harbor Freight. I've never done wet polishing before, so I'd like to know - whats the best procedure?

I went with the Franklin Arsenal kit. Works great havent used corn cob method since, probably never will again. Would recommend their maginet for the pins and Lymans sifting tray assembly. Also bought a mesh skillet at Lowes for grilling veggies. It has a removable handle and is great for drying brass in the oven.

So, whats the recipe? From what I've read, you just put in 1# of stainless steel pins, a few drops of Dawn dish soap, a dash of Lemi Shine or Barkeepers friend, and enough water to cover the brass. Does that sound about right?

Also, is it 100% necessary to use an oven to dry the brass? My reloading room is always kept at a fairly low humidity. Would it be OK to just lay it out and let it dry on the bench?

Go with the franklin arsenal. I've ran it full with 223's and 308's and i've had no problems with it. Big batches, had to be 300-500 brass. Comes out looking better than new and they're all range pickups full of mud.

You pretty much nailed the recipe, I just use a small dab of dawn and a pinch of lemi-shine. I run all the brass though a universal decapper first so it cleans the primer pockets at the same time. Once it's done I just flush it with the hose real good.