.223 bullets for predator hunting

I've been shooting factory loaded 53gr vmax superformance for a few years now which shoot awesome out of my ar. 1/2" groups are more than normal so I've never felt that I needed to reload them. If it's not broke don't fix it, right? Well the past 2 years I've had hit dogs spin and leave never to be found. I honestly thought it was me (still might be) but I've been seeing more and more reviews with similar outcomes.

So... what bullets do you think I should start with?
Before anyone starts rolling their eyes, I do know not every gun likes every ammo. I'm just looking for a few different GOOD hunting bullets to start with to work up loads for.
Shooting a 22" barrel with a 1in9 twist. I do want to be fur friendly only because I do hunt in fox and bobcat areas also.
Thanks in advance!!

I've had similar experiences with vmax in the 223 and 204. Seems to be no middle ground with vmax - it either drops them instantly or else blows up too quick (splashes) and they limp off with nasty wounds. Switched over to the Hornady 55gr hollow point match bullets in the 223 and that has been performing much more reliably so far penetrating to the vitals from various angles.

I have had very good results with 55grain soft points from Midsouth. I use the plain bullets on coyotes and the cannalured on hogs and deer as it seems they hold together better.

Get a heavier frangible bullet like the 60gr V-max or 60gr Nosler Ballistic Tip. They aren't going to blow up for two reasons: they will be traveling a bit slower and there's more sectional density to overcome. If you hit them WAY too far back the 60 grainers will punch through and break up the pelvis and anchor the dog. A shoulder shot will also punch through, break bones and anchor them. A chest shot will create a mess inside the rib cage. Running off is not fur friendly either.