Good skinning knife?

zr600

What’s a good skinning knife? Would one of them outdoor edge knifes be good for skinning coyotes? Could it be used double duty as a field dressing knife for deer? Any ideas would be great.

I use a Cold Steel Pendleton Mini Hunter for coyotes. Skinned a bobcat with the outdoor edge replaceable blades knife. The blade did get some chips in it when doing the head of the bobcat, could have just been me, I'm no pro skinner.

I would try to buy the best steel you can afford.
Decades ago I started out with a Sharpfinger knife for my trapline. It worked pretty well, I poked myself a couple times and sharpened it a lot.
Then I got a buck 102 Woodsman 440 steel($50) which is a versatile tough little knife. Worth owning. Sharpened it quite a bit.
I have had a number of others come and go.
Have a Gerber skinner ATS 34 steel that I love the ergonomics and it holds an edge reasonably well.
Now it's a Knives of Alaska Cub Bear D2 steel good for the fine skinning details and holds an edge much longer. Well worth the $50.
Stepping up is the Benchmade Skinner S30 steel Holds an edge well but costs more. Got it as a gift so don't know the exact cost.

For coyotes I'd get a Victorinox Paring knife. They run about $5-$6 each. Heck, get two of them. Then for your deer chores, I'd look at something from Buck Knives maybe. A Buck 110 is about $35.00 and is a lot of knife value. There are probably other options I'm not thinking of at the moment but those two jump to mind immediately.

Havalon for small game/predators and caping heads.
Outdoor edge whitetail or mule deer skinners for large body skinning only duties.

Piranta

4qWoVAYl.jpg

I got one as a gift.....they're handy in the fur shed but I ain't giving away my Russel Woods Walker or Victorinox Parer just yet and I danged sure wouldn't recommend one for an all purpose Coyote skinner/Deer processor like the OP mentioned.