Any Skeet Shooters?

pyscodog

I started shooting skeet this year. There's 5-6 of us old pharts meet on Wed afternoons and shoot 3-4 rounds. This stuff is addicting. I continue to improve but still don't have it quite figured out but we are having a good time. Learning lots of new swear words and we rib each other a LOT! I even reload my own shells now. YooHoo!!

I love skeet shooting, we also go shoot Sporting Clays and that's a hoot! Anytime on the Range, is a good time on the Range
thumbup1.gif

Our Sportsmen's Club has a single dual Trap and Skeet Range that we shoot at on Thursdays.

The Trap Range has been going since the early 1960s, we just got the Skeet Range put in 2 years ago.

We have more Trap shooters than Skeet shooters. Most of the Trap shooter's don't like to shoot Skeet because you have to lead Skeet targets to hit them.LOL

You can get away with aiming at Trap targets, with Skeet targets you need to shoot at where the targets are going to be.

I started shooting Trap in 1968 and started shooting Skeet in about 1970.

I like to shoot Sporting Clays more than Trap and Skeet but I have to travel farther to get to the Sporting Clays ranges.

Below are some Skeet Station 8 low house targets I took pictures of a while back.
2016-05-11 16.23.49-5 - Copy by Robert Morris, on Flickr
2016-05-11 16.23.49-6 by Robert Morris, on Flickr
2016-05-11 16.22.16-5 by Robert Morris, on Flickr
2016-05-11 16.22.16-6 by Robert Morris, on Flickr
What is interesting about all the Low House Station 8 pictures I took you can see that the shot is in front of the targets a little. When I shoot Station 8 Targets I move my gun quickly and pull the trigger as soon as I get on the target. So I don't see any lead in front of the target. But with my gun moving pretty fast by the time it takes me to pull the trigger my shotgun has moved in front of the target just a little bit.