Piston Upper

mully

Looking for suggestions on a piston upper. 223 Wylde chamber, thinking 18". It will be shot suppressed. I have not found a lot of info on piston guns.

Seems to me like a good idea to keep the action cleaner but I have no real word experience with one. I liked Adams Arms adjustable gas block that could be easily switched from suppressed to non-suppressed. I would think the same type setup could be put on a DI action.

ARs are not "Direct Impingement". They are more correctly called "Direct Gas". ARs have a piston in the carrier. The Adams Arms system has a reputation as being not reliable enough.

If you want to switch between suppressed and unsuppressed, get the SLR adjustable gas block. However, after shooting suppressed a few times you'll find that you're shooting suppressed all the time.

If you use a carbine receiver extension, use an H2 buffer and a Sprinco blue spring.

If you use a rifle receiver extension, use a rifle buffer and a Sprinco green spring.

If you use an A5 receiver extension, use the A5H2 buffer and Sprinco green spring.

I run superlative arms piston kit they are money well spent.There piston kit comes with the most awesome adjustable gas block I have ever used.The piston system is maintanace free your bolt carrier never gets dirty.Check out some of the videos on u tube of there product and how they work.There gas block not only reduces wear and tear on your brass but you can tune a lot of recoil out as well

I and two (2) friends have gas piston AR's - mine was made by Adam's Arms and it has never had any sort of problem and with the right ammunition, guided by a rifleman, it shoots right at 1/2 inch groups at 100 yards rested and scoped.