Savage 10/110 Trophy Hunter XP vs Howa 1500

Silver Belly62

Looking for some advice on these two model rifles for anyone that is currently using one for a possible upcoming purchase in 223 caliber, which would be my first rifle in that caliber. I have had three other Savage rifles in different models(two accutrigger & one non) over the years in other calibers with no issues but recently I came across a used Howa 1500 in 270 with the Hogue overmolded stock which I really liked. Checked their site and you can get it in 223 or 22-250 also, but I have no experience with Howa rifles and knowing their quality etc. Any info/opinions from guy's that currently hunt with either of these models would be appreciated, thanks

Last edited:
I like my 11 trophy hunter, took off the cheap coin slotted Nikon and put a Leupold in Talley’s back on it. I would probably bought the 10 instead, but it wasn’t in stock at the time of purchase. If your wanting the 10 trophy hunter, nows the time because I’m not seeing it listed on the Savage website anymore.

i think the quality on the howa is better than Savage, just work the bolt on both you'll see...Weatherby would be another good choice.

Originally Posted By: greengt88i think the quality on the howa is better than Savage, just work the bolt on both you'll see...Weatherby would be another good choice.
The used 270 I came across was smooth, I will give it that. Similar to the Savage American Classic 14/114 rifles I've had. Usually I have problems with the LOP on most synthetic stocks, and have to go with wood, but that one on the Howa wasn't that bad and was longer than a lot of others. I also liked that textured feel of the Hogue over mold. Looked at the Weatherby rifles, and liked them, but I have to have a straight comb stock

Last edited: