25 DTI Brass Forming

Catdog1

What steps are required to form the .25 DTI cartridge? Im just learning about this little hotrod and im considering getting one. I would like to shoot the 75-90gr bullets as fast as possible. From an 18" barrel.

Run the 6.8 brass through the 25 DTI sizing die and load them. The final forming will happen after you fire them.

Originally Posted By: reb8600Run the 6.8 brass through the 25 DTI sizing die and load them. The final forming will happen after you fire them. thank you for the response. How much fireforming takes place compared to the brass just being ran thru the die. Is there a huge difference in case capacity gained thru fireforming or is the change very little? I can not find any specs on this cartridge.

Last edited:
for safety purposes I would personally figure 1 grain. take that into consideration plus the brand of brass that u choose. I did not actually measure mine when I formed it.
U will like the 25 DTI.
Greg Harrison

There is a little change on fireforming but not much. I usually lower the first load on unformed brass by a grain or so.
I have 2 rifles in 25 DTI. Great caliber and very accurate.

Originally Posted By: Catdog1Originally Posted By: reb8600Run the 6.8 brass through the 25 DTI sizing die and load them. The final forming will happen after you fire them. thank you for the response. How much fireforming takes place compared to the brass just being ran thru the die. Is there a huge difference in case capacity gained thru fireforming or is the change very little? I can not find any specs on this cartridge.

The shoulder-angle changes by pivoting at the neck/shoulder junction. It changes from 23* to 30*. You will see it in the shoulder after firing. It is a small, pie-piece shaped area. Very slight difference in case-capacity, but a bit more efficient than the original angle.