Failure to extract unfired reloaded ammo?

MAArcher

I'm new to AR's. I have a PSA Wylde upper and I'm loading new Hornady brass with Varget and 65 grain Siera GameKings with standard RCBS dies on a Rock Chucker. It occasionally fails to extract unfired rounds when I'm unloading. Any idea how I can figure out why and what I need to do to fix it? Any information appreciated, thanks.

Some of my PSA's needed a heavier extractor spring. The extractor was slipping off of the case rim or head. Is the bolt closing all the way so the extractor is engaging the case head? I can't imagine head space so great that the cartridge is so far forward the extractor doesn't reach it. Do you have any idea how far you are pushing the shoulder back when resizing?

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: varminter .223Some of my PSA's needed a heavier extractor spring. The extractor was slipping off of the case rim or head. Is the bolt closing all the way so the extractor is engaging the case head?

Could you recommend a spring that worked for you?

https://www.midwayusa.com/s?userSearchQuery=ar+extractor+spring&userItemsPerPage=48

I think I put the dpms in mine.

My issues were with non extracting fired case if I recall which is what I thought your post said until I reread it. Take your spring out and if it doesn't have the rubber piece in it I would replace it. I would also measure your resized cases and compare them to a fired case. The measurement you want would be from the case head to the datum line area or shoulder which take a special too that goes on a caliper.

Not my video but it shows you what I am talking about.