Coyote hunting

Camospred

Just moved here to Middle TN from Virginia. I live around the Hermitage area and I'm New to the coyote game. I have gear, a foxpro deadbone call, and a 17 HMR or Rem. 870 to use. Could use a mentor to take me out and show me the ropes. Any help or info would be appreciated like to find someone that i could go with on weekends.Thanks

Last edited:
I am in central Ky but hunt in TN every now and then. My older brother lives in Nashville (Franklin). You should consider hitting the LBL (Land Between the Lakes). You can go out for weekend long hunts there. You might have to buy Ky hunting license but its cheap compared to most states Non Resident license. It might be a bit of a drive but for a full weekend its more then worth it. Your shotgun would be all you need there. As far as someone to show you the ropes I can't really help you there but you can do it the way I did. Read everything you can and try it all to see what works for your area. I have ruined a lot of hunts at the beginning but its started getting better as I saw my mistakes. Shotguns in the woods seem to work much better for the day time here. Called my first one in with a double reed rabid rabbit call on my second attempt. Then didn't see another one for about 5 months. Don't get down. It will get better. Just keep trying different stuff.

As far as finding good spots & getting permission if needed for $30 a year I get onXhunt app. Will give you property owners names & boundary lines. Also shows where game lands are & the amount of acreage to all those properties.

Welcome to Predator Masters ! Use the "Google custom search" at the top of the page. Just type in what you want to learn about and read read read & ask questions on here too.

Check this out :

http://www.predatormastersforums.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=83113&page=1