Pulsar Stream Vision or other secondary viewing options

Greyhunter

A couple buddies and I are wanting to buy thermals and I have played with thermal but never as a weapons sight. The idea of scanning through the scope for 15-30 minutes on a stand does not sound fun but we also don't have the funds for scopes and scanners off the bat. Honestly, mashing a handheld scanner against my face for 15-30 minutes doesn't sound fun either.
Pulsar has their Stream Vision app for a smartphone, which if you had the phone mounted to a tripod leg, seems like it would work pretty well for scanning as you panned the rifle back and forth on a good tripod. It also seems much easier on the eyes to be able to use both eyes to watch the screen. Has anyone tried this? Does the Stream Vision app work well?
Is remote viewing possible on other brands besides Pulsar, even if by wire?
Setting aside the safety benefits of a separate scanner, is there a reason this would not work well?

I'm just getting started with mine... played with the stream vision for just a few minutes... it seemed to drag and delay some, it was not fluid.

Of course now I have not messed with it much but plan on when I get back out.

I think skinney recently posted in the battery issue thread that he runs an I phone 6 on stand. Maybe he will see your post and respond on how they use it, but pretty sure he is using IRD-Trij. My main concern would be how much light it back splashed on you, but his outfit is a coyote killing machine, so it must not bother the way they use it. You might PM him as well.

I thought about being backlit by the phone screen, but running in white hot should reduce that quite a bit and my phone screen will dim down pretty low. I don't know how much of an issue it would be? Just seem way more comfortable to watch a screen with both eyes than to look through a view finder.