Shotgun ammo?

5rshooter

Hi all! I'm having trouble finding "coyote" suitable 12 ga ammo locally. Have tried every gun shop, pawn shop within a 100 mile radius and all say they're out of stock at the moment. Looking for the Winchester varmint x bb load and Federal vital shok #4 buck both 3 inch. Anyone else have this trouble or is it a seasonal thing? Found it online but shipping was high.

In the long run it is cheaper to order it. Driving around looking for it costs money and takes more time and you may never find it within 100 miles.

Coyote shotgun loads are like toilet paper, you shouldn't wait until you need it, to order it or go buy some.

I'm new at the shotgun hunting for coyote. Have plenty of turkey shells but just branching out for yotes. Didn't drive to all the places, just a quick phone call. I did order some online last night. Hopefully one will pattern out of what i found and i can stock up when they hit shelves here again.

Originally Posted By: digger11 Use the turkey loads,,the yotes won't know the difference.

w00t.gif
bad advice. ^^^

you are doing the right thing by ordering something other than turkey loads.
thumbup1.gif

Some states limit the shot size for Turkey season. In Iowa, legal Turkey loads would not do well on Coyotes. I prefer Rem. 4 buck as an "over the counter" type load for Yotes.

Thanks guys! I should be able to get out and pattern these this weekend, never know i may get lucky and not have to chase down a load that will give a pattern like i want.

Originally Posted By: digger11 Use the turkey loads,,the yotes won't know the difference.

Well... maybe, maybe not. What's your experience with turkey loads on coyotes?

I see your from TN and as you probably know state regs say that buckshot is not legal for yotes. The largest shot you can use is T shot. I have had good luck using Hevi Shot #4 turkey loads on yotes. It really hits them hard and pattern fairly well out to 40 yards with the right choke.

Last edited: