How many times does it take

kswaterfowl

It seems like at least once every year I get lazy and dont carry my shotgun with me on a stand. And at least once every year it bites me in the butt. Well guess what happened this morning?

I went out mid morning to do a stand, in what I thought was a pretty open pasture. I thought to myself, I won't need a shotgun. I was wrong. Had a double about run me over, literally about five feet. They were in and out in a matter of seconds, and was left sitting there cussing myself.

I wouldn't consider myself a veteran coyote caller, but I have been calling for 10+ years. And you would think I would have learned my lesson by now. So my tip to guys just getting started. Don't get lazy, bring your shotgun.

Originally Posted By: kswaterfowlIt seems like at least once every year I get lazy and dont carry my shotgun with me on a stand. And at least once every year it bites me in the butt. Well guess what happened this morning?

I went out mid morning to do a stand, in what I thought was a pretty open pasture. I thought to myself, I won't need a shotgun. I was wrong. Had a double about run me over, literally about five feet. They were in and out in a matter of seconds, and was left sitting there cussing myself.

I wouldn't consider myself a veteran coyote caller, but I have been calling for 10+ years. And you would think I would have learned my lesson by now. So my tip to guys just getting started. Don't get lazy, bring your shotgun.

the older i get the harder it has become to hit a close up running coyote (or a far one for that matter) with a rifle. seemed like i was constantly having coyotes run in and run out before i could get it together and get them killed.