Brass Case Trimmers

soup

Folks.
Wondering if anyone is using the “ TRIM-IT “ brass trimmer ? If you are using one do you have it connected to a drill press or direct to a motor or a hand drill ?
Perhaps some members are using another BYOP , bring your own power , type trimmer or a power trimmer and I’d like to hear your first hand pros and cons.

Thank you in advance for your time and consideration. A very Happy , Healthy and Prosperous New Year to all.

Semper Fi
Soup

I have used a RCBS hand trimmer for years, still do on small batches. Several years ago, bought their power trimmer and the three way cutter head. It mostly stays set for .223 cases, not having to debur is nice. Had a Lyman for a while, the bearing that the cutter shaft runs in would move, causing the trim length to change. Gave it away, with a warning about the bearing.

I have been using a Lee hand trimmer since 1976 and I trim my cases each time I reload them. If I have a large batch to trim I put the shell holder in a cordless drill to trim them with less effort.

Last edited:
Also use the Lee hand trimmer, one for each type cartridge.
Use a power drill on case head then Lee trimmer mandrel in a -cutter-with-ball-grip
Check every case after full size die resize in a locked caliper, trim those that don't fit.

lee products aren't always the trendiest or sexiest purchase but they always work for me. I would definitely listen to the folks that bought the power drill style, though.

You can basically sum it up this way - if being off 0.002"/0.005" OAL doesn't mess with your mind, then any of the "fast" trimmers will do a great job for you. However, if you're of the anal type and want the OAL to be on the money - then only the "manual" type will currently do this, such as the Hornady, Wilson and others on the market.