Side Charge Complete Upper

Delta Dog

Hello,

New to the forum, sort of. I had to get a new username and am pretty sure my information and posts wont show up like they used to.

I am looking to put together a coyote/cat AR, preferable a side-charge design.

I know the parts I would like and how I want the build to turn out, but I am a newb when it comes to AR builds and may not be able to get the gas system adjusted all by my lonesome.

Anyone out there help new guys like me get set up and assembled?

Jake

Wormydog,
Good to know there are guys like you out there, even though Texas isn’t out my back door.

I appreciate the encouragement. I was told to go with an adjustable gas block, and tuning the whole system had me wanting to buy a barreled upper. However, putting it together myself is the only way to end up with the build i want.

I’ll put together a build list and may reach out again for input.

Jake

if its a 223/5.56 just put it togther like you would any other upper. that charging handle doesnt add THAT Much weight to the reciprocating mass of the carrier.

unless you're working with something pretty far outside the box, i dont think you'll have many issues.

as mentioned - give us some more info, preferable a full parts list, and folks will be glad to help you out.

Are you looking at a left side or right side charging handle? I've got a JoeBob's Left side charge handle and love it. Unless it's carried on a sling, on my back or my chest for very long. For long carries the charging handle digs into my back/chest pretty bad. Slung over my shoulder doesn't bother anything.

Just something to keep in mind while you're shopping.

P.S. Did I mention that I love the JoeBob's sidecharger unless walking long distances?