Pistols for coyotes?

Fur Freaks

Anyone do much hunting with a T\C Contender or an XP100? I really want an XP100R but for the money I could own 2-3 guns. Looking at picking up a contender in .223 with 4x scope and bipod.

My buddy sometimes hunts with a Contender in .223 and also has one in 32-20. Pretty sweet guns. I have no experience with the XP100.

Last edited:
My 17 Fireball XP has been my go-to coyote hunting setup for years. Have also used a 6.5 WSM XP/6.5-20x Holland HUMR ART reticle for long range as well. Now have a 243 XP I will also be using some. Used to use a 6.5-284 XP as well, years back.

I have a TC Contender and they work great. I’ll take my .223 with 14” barrel and throw it over my shoulder with a sling and a handful of ammo and walk all day from stand to stand for miles. So light weight and very accurate. I have a 6TCU 16.25” barrel on a rifle Stock setup that works well too.

They are great accurate guns and anytime you want a new caliber barrels are found under $200 used.

I’d recommend them.

When living in Az, I shot several with a GP100, 357 Mag with Sierra, Win, and Rem 125g HP. Killed two with a 45 ACP +p 185g NOsler HP.

All shots with pistols are 15-35 yards, typical shotgun shots. Coyotes were on the move most of the time.

I missed several, all coming in to the call, close range. One saw the reflection on the stainless pistol for sure. Purposefully hunting with a pistol has cost me some tails for sure.

Hunting with a scoped pistol would be a challenge like hunting with a bow, perhaps more so.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Fur FreaksAnyone do much hunting with a T\C Contender or an XP100? I really want an XP100R but for the money I could own 2-3 guns. Looking at picking up a contender in .223 with 4x scope and bipod.

The old adage of "you get what you pay for" comes to mind.