18 power scope enough?

Originally Posted By: spotstalkshootFor prairie dogs with 17 and 20 caliber, is a 18 power top end enough scope?

I have ZERO experience with shooting P-dogs so I can't help except I'll take a stab at it and suggest it should be good to go.

I's also guess the type reticle is important as well... don't want a thick one that covers your target at distance.

Interested in the experienced answers...

I had a 4x20 on my 223 last summer, in the middle of the day on side winds I had to turn it down. I had a 4x16 on my 22-250 and do not recall any mirage, but there was a noticeable difference when shooting 300+. The reticle does make a difference, the 4x16 was a Nikon bdc terrible for prairie dogs. I need to replace the Nikon for next summer's shoot, was thinking 6x18 fine duplex or the Leupold wind plex.

I spoke to the folks at Leupold about the windplex ret and was told it was pretty thick. I ended up getting a VX-6 3x18 with moa hash marks and it is a fine ret that should work for you.

A friend of mine always used a 6-24x or 6.5-20x. He told me he could make use of the higher power in the morning, but by 10am would go down to 16x because of mirage.

Originally Posted By: Catdog1A friend of mine always used a 6-24x or 6.5-20x. He told me he could make use of the higher power in the morning, but by 10am would go down to 16x because of mirage.

This is my experience.

I have a couple of scopes that go to 24x but seldom
get above 20x.

Originally Posted By: 204 ARI have shot my share of pdogs and 18 or 20x is just about perfect IMO.

Sure is. Even though most of my prairie dog rigs have variables of 20X or higher I usually use 12X for most of my actual shooting. I like to see them fly and you need field of view for that.

As stated above, a lot of times anything over 12X isn't very usable due to mirage and such. Focus on a higher quality optic over higher magnification...it will pay dividends in the long run.