Starter Equipment

sjaustin

New to coyote hunting and looking for some suggestions on basic line up of gear/equipment everyone carries on a hunt or what I should look into getting, aside from the obvious of a rifle w/ optics.

I like a good bipod and a good chair. Where I hunt the grass can be knee high so I like to get my butt off the ground for better visibility.

I'm using Primos Double Bull Blind chair and Primos Rapid Pivot Bipod. I have been using them for 10 years or so.

Next would be a good sling for the rifle. I like one that I can cinch down tight and have both hands free.

A good electronic call and a couple mouth calls around my neck.

A paracord drag.

Good hunting boots, good socks.
Water. Snacky snacks.
Warm weather gloves and cold weather gloves.
Camo Face mask, maybe one for warm and one for cold but I only use one for both. Since you're in NM one should be fine.
Kings Camo.

I wear a light weight Gillie jacket as it works weather it is sub-zero or 90 I can adjust from a tee shirt to a heavy sweater under it, I have some camo pant but have found cotten dress pants or heavy woolpants work just fine as long as the sort of match the surounding brush darker tan or lighter greys. Bellow the waist there is usually enough brush to break things up. For winter an inexpensive white light weight cover and just light grey wool pants in the brush or light weight while over pants in the open. I use a low turkey seat in hill country or just a pad, it flatter sage country a three legged stool, I carry my rifle in a back scabard, as it leaves my arms free to ride my bike or ski, shooting sticks, drag, and stool go in or on the scabbard w/matches and lighter, knife, small flashlight and compass.

Last edited:
In my book..."MUST HAVES":

#1) You must find land to hunt. But not simply land. It MUST be land that has coyotes/predators either living on...or at the very least, traveling thru on a regular basis.
Without that, you're just spending time in the outdoors.