IR lens sizes

I believe the bigger lense essentially bends or magnified the light so it reaches out farther. Granted I’m no expert but that is my understanding. I’ve been using htrn’s “infinity” ir light and it reaches way out there I believe it is 38mm

If your talking about lens diameter the larger the lens the smaller the LED will be focused and the farther the light will throw throw when driven the same with the same emitter. The issue with a fully focused light is the image cast by the LED will be much smaller than the FOV in your scope. I find this annoying and back my zoom-able light off to fill the FOV of my scope. I ran a 50mm IR last year but switched to a T20 this year. I haven't noticed much if any loss but have yet to compare them side by side.

The pics are gone but this might help you out on how to compare flashlights. I haven't got my hands on enough zoom lights yet to up date this post.

http://www.predatormastersforums.com/for...726#Post2293726

Last edited:
Im about ready to buy a Armasite Vampire and im not sure what IR to go with. I know the HTRN T-20 is good. Anyone have experience with the HTRN T-3875 with 38mm lens?

HTRN just updated my T20 and I'm happy with it. I wouldn't pay $200 for a light but with his upgrade I have $75 into it.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Widow maker 223Im about ready to buy a Armasite Vampire and im not sure what IR to go with. I know the HTRN T-20 is good. Anyone have experience with the HTRN T-3875 with 38mm lens?

A T20 has the same lens diameter as HTRN-3875. They are Both 38mm.

If you buy the bigger lens you will throw a farther beam but...........read my first post

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Widow maker 223Im about ready to buy a Armasite Vampire and im not sure what IR to go with. I know the HTRN T-20 is good. Anyone have experience with the HTRN T-3875 with 38mm lens?