Muzzle break decibel level down range?

Jim Byers

Everyone knows that breaks make rifles louder to the shooter/bistanders but has anyone tested the dB levels down range? Just curious if perhaps the sound is deflected/distorted from the quarries perspective..

Last edited:
I have read from several people that yes it does help cut down range noise levels. Several friends of mine swore by them in PD Towns before they got suppressors. I have also heard of guys having increased success while using them for coyote hunting.

On the other hand every muzzle brake that I've ever used that did what it was supposed to and did it well I usually couldn't stand the concussion let alone the noise that it created towards me (the shooter)

Last edited:
I assume it would be considering how it works, it re-directs the sound. I know at my ear, I hate brakes without ear pro in!

When combining a brake and suppressor, then it does make a difference (to my ears). I'm fairly new to the suppressor world (Form 1 and commercial), but I've done a lot of research and and a lot of learning. Watching the reactions of farm animals when shooting (shooting at a friends), made me realize that they do not know where the sound is coming from, and the heifers don't really get spooked like they usually do. I guess I'll find out this deer season. I have a chance to hunt a property where they encourage as many does to be shot with a chance at truly trophy bucks (3 bucks killed in the last 5 years at 200"+ gross and a number in the 190's)

Last edited: