crossing state lines

lyotehunter

any one been checked while in another state like living in Ut. and hunting Idaho. Wyo. etc.? AND ASK FOR ANOTHER FORM?

Last edited:
Just take a copy of your tax stamp with you. I took a suppressor up to Idaho for a weekend of shooting and no one bothered us. You don't need a letter from the BATF to take a suppressor across state lines, but you do for SBRs

Last edited:
AFAIK theres no need to file a form 20 for transporting a suppressor across state lines like there are with other NFA items like a SBR,machine gun, etc. you do need to be aware of any state level laws regarding the ownership/posession of NFA items before you go there.

as i understand it the only paperwork you need to have with you is your stamp, and any associated trust information (if applicable), and of course your ID.

now i am not a lawyer, nor a representative of the BATFE - i'm just a dude on the internet who owns a couple suppressors. so while i believe my information is accurate, i strongly encourage you to contact your local BATFE branch office if you have any questions at all. They're always more than happy to help you stay in compliance of their rules.

HTH

If you do call them, use your cell phone and download an app called automatic call recorder. Record the conversation that way you have record of what they tell you.

Originally Posted By: Plant.Oneas i understand it the only paperwork you need to have with you is your stamp, and any associated trust information (if applicable), and of course your ID.

I have never heard anything about needing to have any trust paper work with you, just your stamp.

I would assume (and I'm assuming since I don't have a dog in the fight) if the tax stamp is registered to a trust, you need something showing you are the trust. Otherwise there's nothing that says the person in possession of it is legally in possession of it. If it's stamped to you as an individual your ID takes care of that by itself.