Hello from Colorado Newbie

TCR

Hello, I am a newbie from Colorado, I have always hunted coyotes but only in an as the opportunity arises, never to go out and call them. So this year will be different. I have purchased the shockwave, and have a new predator rifle on order. I went with the 223 in a savage axis II it is an engraved one I am getting from https://www.americanlegacyfirearms.c...hunting-rifle/
I kind of splurged on the gun for a fun one to play with.
I am going to hunt north east Colorado and have heard that the area is very tough to hunt. Anyone got any tips or suggestions for me would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

Welcome aboard, hope you can get to the convention. My daughter lives in Pueblo so I drive through that country coming down the interstate. It seems I see coyotes just south of the WY border almost every trip. If you apply all the known rules concerning scent/wind, movement on the stand and stealth getting to the stand I can't see why they would be any harder to call there. If it is heavily hunted you might not want to try and call them out into the open but find areas that they can respond to the call with out having to expose themselves very much.

Close cover and small sounds seem to work for me in heavily hunted areas.

if the Pawnee grasslands are your planned destination, then yes, the calling will be tough. Not only does the area get called a lot, but every Tom, Dick, and Harry along the northern front range seem to think that it's the area to go do some target shooting.
If you find any success in the grasslands, it will be earned. Best of luck.

Curious what target shooting has to do with coyote hunting. Gun fire doesn't effect coyotes much unless it is directed at them. Coyotes and deer cross our rifle range all the time, even while shooters are blasting away.