Glock 17 Gen 4

cclark

I am a reserve deputy for my local sheriff dept. We are switching from the Glock 22 to the Glock 17. As a reserve we have to buy our weapon. I can get a Gen 4 Glock 17 with night sights for 409 bucks through the dept. Or I can go out and find a Gen 3 on my own. Which way would you go? I have had no issues with my 22 or my 19, and I do not mind spending more if needed on a Gen 3. Thanks Chris

I had a Gen 4 and had no issues with it. I don't shoot pistols much but it seemed typical Glock to me. I have a 26 now and its the same. Shoots good and goes bang everytime you pull the trigger.

I have over 80,000 rounds through my Gen 3 G17 and it's still going strong. Imho the Gen 3 was the pinnacle. Too many gadgety trinkets on the Gen 4

I have a gen 3 I have been carring on duty for 14 years with zero issues. I do not like the new gen 4 triggers they are different they pull different. The salesman pulled mine and then the 4 and agreed. Go gen 3

Thanks everyone. I suspect the Gen 4 will perform just fine, I am curious about the trigger.

Last edited: